Asia leadership

The LWF global governing body, the LWF Council, draws its leadership from member churches. Council representatives include as diverse a range of communion members as possible. Councillors from each region include women, youth, church leadership, and specialists in advocacy and diakonia.


LWF Vice President for Asia
Ms Desri Maria Sumbayak, Indonesian Christian Church

Members of the LWF Council in Asia
Northeast Asia Lutheran Communion

Ms Fu Ando Japan Evangelical Lutheran Church
Bishop Chang Chun-Wa, The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hong Kong
Rev. Selma Shu-Chen The Lutheran Church of Taiwan (Republic of China)

West-south Asia Lutheran Communion
Rev. Dr Christ Sumit Abhay Kerketta, Gossner Evangelical Lutheran Church
Ms Ranjita Christie Borgoary, Northern Evangelical Lutheran Church (India)
Ms Sally Azar, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land

Southeast Asia Lutheran Communion
Bishop Tuhoni Telaumbanua, The Protestant Christian Church
Bishop Aaron Yap Chuan Ching, Lutheran Church in Malaysia
Mr Johanan Celine Valeriano, Lutheran Church in the Philippines